Tuesday, March 15, 2011

State Aid and State Library Cut Deeply in House TED budget – Contacts Needed Now!

Just received 3/15/2011 from Charlie Parker
This morning the House Transportation and Economic Development Appropriations Subcommittee adopted a preliminary position that does the following:

-Reduces State Aid to Public Libraries from the current federal maintenance of effort level of $21,248,667 to $8,318,188 or a 60% reduction

-Consolidates the State Library and Archives, eliminating 7 positions and $437,875

-Takes away $532,289 for Library Resources in state General Revenue and replaces it with LSTA, thus reducing the LSTA funds available for other needs.

-Does not fund the library cooperative program which is at $1.2 million this year

Also remember this is early in the process. The House and Senate committees have not yet reported out their budgets and they have gone to the House and Senate floor. The session is scheduled to end May 6. But we have to act now – many of these legislators are new and need to see how strongly Floridians feel about their libraries.

Please contact your legislators and let them know about this problem along with the House leadership and TED committee members listed below. It is critical for them to hear from the library community now.

As Charlie Parker says "I know this is rough news, but please be very nice to these folks."


House
Rep. Dean Cannon (r) – Speaker - Represents part of Orange County – Speaker designate 2011-12
dean.cannon@myfloridahouse.gov
District (407) 623-5740 / Tallahassee (850) 488-2742


Rep. Will Weatherford (r) – Speaker Designate - Represents parts of Hillsborough & Pasco counties – Speaker designate 2013-14
will.weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov
District (813) 558-5115 / Tallahassee (850) 488-5744



Transportation & Economic Development Appropriations Committee

In the House library budget issues will originate in this committee

Rep. Mike Horner (r), Chair – Represents parts of Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, & Polk counties
mike.horner@myfloridahouse.gov
District (407) 943-3077 / Tallahassee (850) 488-8992


Rep. Ritch Workman (r), Vice-Chairman – Represents part of Brevard County
ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov
District (321) 757-7019 / Tallahassee (850) 488-9720


Rep. Lori Berman (d) – Represents part of Palm Beach County
lori.berman@myfloridahouse.gov
District (561) 266-6645 / Tallahassee (850) 488-1662


Rep. Mack Bernard (d) – Represents parts of Palm Beach County – mack.bernard@myfloridahouse.gov
District (561) 650-6880 / Tallahassee (850) 488-8632


Rep. Jeffry Brandes (r) – Represents part of Pinellas County
jeff.brandes@myfloridahouse.gov
District (727) 552-2573 / Tallahassee (850) 488-5719


Rep. Douglas Broxson (r) – Represents parts of Escambia, Okaloosa, & Santa Rosa counties
doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov
District (850) 916-5436 / Tallahassee (850) 488-8188


Rep. Rachel Burgin (r) – Represents part of Hillsborough County
rachel.burgin@myfloridahouse.gov
District (813) 655-3742 / Tallahassee (850) 488-9910


Rep. Matt Caldwell (r) – Represents part of Lee County
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov
District (239) 533-2411 / Tallahassee (850) 488-1541


Rep. Brad Drake (r) – Represents Holmes, Washington and parts of Jackson, Okaloosa, & Walton counties
brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov
District (850) 892-8431 / Tallahassee (850) 488-4726


Rep. Evan Jenne (d) – Represents part of Broward County
jenne@myfloridahouse.gov

District (954) 321-2760 / Tallahassee (850) 488-0245


Rep. Debbie Mayfield (r) – Represents parts of Brevard, Indian River, & St. Lucie counties
debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
District (772) 778-5077 / Tallahassee (850) 488-0952


Rep. Peter Nehr (r) – Represents parts of Pasco & Pinellas counties peter.nehr@myfloridahouse.gov
District (727) 943-4880 / Tallahassee (850) 488-5580


Rep. Lake Ray (r) – Represents parts of Duval County
lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov
District (904) 723-5300 / Tallahassee (850) 488-4388


Rep. Hazelle Rogers (d) – Represents part of Broward
hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov
District (954) 497-3367 / Tallahassee (850)488-8234


Rep. Richard Steinberg (d) - Represents part of Miami Dade County richard.steinberg@myfloridahouse.gov
District (305) 535-5445 / Tallahassee (850) 488-0690

No comments:

Post a Comment